POLICY CALL - Not One More: The Fight To Stop Southeast Asian Deportation

Thu, October 31, 2019 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
PT
Webinar

 

NOT ONE MORE: THE FIGHT TO STOP

SOUTHEAST ASIAN DEPORTATION

 Immigration Policy Call

(For Funders Only)

Thursday, October 31, 2019

11 am-12 pm PDT, 12-1 pm MDT, 1-2 pm CDT, 2-3 pm EDT

 
Illustration by Natalie Bui

Between 1975 to 1990, 1.4 million Southeast Asian refugees from Cambodia, Vietnam, and Laos were resettled in the United States. This was the country’s largest refugee resettlement program following the war in Southeast Asia and the U.S.-led military campaign, where refugees experienced war, the uncertainty and instability of refugee camps, and genocide. However, more than 16,000 Southeast Asians from Cambodia, Vietnam, and Laos have been issued orders of deportation since 1998 due to anti-immigrant policies. Under the Trump administration alone, the detention and deportation in the Southeast Asian community has risen sharply, with recent raids targeting Cambodian Americans, and an increase of 279 percent in the deportation of Cambodian Americans since 2017, according to an NPR report last year.

Join us for a conversation with leaders organizing around the country to stop the ongoing criminalization and deportation of the Southeast Asian community. Speakers will discuss the political and historical contexts, the harmful impact of these deportations, address issues of community activism and education, and encourage action from philanthropy. 
 
This webinar is open to funders only and brought to you in partnership with
GCIR, AAPIP, HIP and New Breath Foundation
Register at GCIR by creating an account if you don't have one. 

 

SPEAKERS

 Register Now
Registration closes at 4 pm, PDT, Oct 30
 

Monthly Immigration Policy Calls

Held on the third Thursday of each month, GCIR's monthly policy calls provide an update on timely policy issues affecting immigrants and refugees—with an in-depth look at a topic that is particularly relevant or pressing for philanthropy. At critical junctures, we will also produce written policy updates and resource materials to deepen funders’ understanding of key developments and their implications for philanthropy. Please contact aryah [at] gcir.org (Aryah Somers Landsberger), Vice President of Programs, with your suggestions on topics, speakers, and resources to share.