Twenty Years After 9/11: A Call to Action to Support Impacted Communities

Thu, June 10, 2021 - 9:00am to 10:30am
PT
Webinar

Join RISE Together Fund and Asian Americans/Pacific Islanders in Philanthropy on Thursday, June 10, at 11 am PT/1 pm CT/2 pm ET for a funder briefing on the work of the BAMEMSA field in the wake of 9/11.

In addition to the destruction and lives lost on 9/11, that event unleashed an onslaught of state-sponsored violence, surveillance, and hate crimes against Black/African, Arab, Middle Eastern, Muslim, and South Asian (BAMEMSA) communities over the past two decades. In response, a vibrant and diverse community of activists demanded their rights and inclusion. Yet, as we commemorate the twentieth anniversary of 9/11 this year, our communities face ongoing suspicion and underinvestment.

In this panel discussion, field leaders will discuss their programming to commemorate this important anniversary, including the creation of an interactive digital timeline on the impacts of 9/11 and the War on Terror on BAMEMSA communities, and media engagement work including messaging, research, and spokesperson training. Panelists will share their successes in movement building, as well as the ongoing challenges they continue to face in resourcing their work due to suspicion and progressive Islamophobia. Two funders who support BAMEMSA communities will share concrete ways that grantmakers can invest in this movement over the long-term.

View the full event description here.